Clarence E. Mulford – A Bibliography

As he was very passionate about life in the West, Clarence Mulford wrote non-fiction novels to share his knowledge. His Hopalong Cassidy books were by far his most popular, however, and include:

1906 Bar 20
1908 The Orphan & The Coming of Cassidy
1910 Hopalong Cassidy
1911 Bar-20 Days
1912 Buck Peters, Ranchman
1918 The Man from Bar-20
1920 Johnny Nelson
1921 The Bar-20 Three
1922 Tex & Bring Me His Ears
1923 Black Buttes
1924 Rustler’s Valley & Hopalong Cassidy Returns
1925 Cottonwood Gulch
1926 Hopalong Cassidy’s Protégé & The Bar-20 Rides Again
1927 Corson of the JC
1928 Mesquite Jenkins & Me and Shorty
1930 Deputy Sheriff & Hopalong Cassidy and the Eagles Brood
1931 Mesquite Jenkins, Tumbleweed
1933 The Round-up
1934 Trail Dust
1935 On the Trail of the Tumbling T
1937 Hopalong Cassidy Takes Cards
1941 Hopalong Cassidy Serves a Writ

After his death, there were four other Hopalong Cassidy books written by Louis L’Amour. Mulford was probably turning over in his grave, however, as the main character was similar to that of the movies and not the one in his novels.